Annual Prizes and Awards

Summer Meeting Poster Prizes

Four Prizes are awarded at the annual Summer Meeting, two for clinical and two for non-clinical posters.

Due to the cancellation of the Summer Meeting there will be no poster prizes awarded for 2020.

Posters are reviewed by a panel of BAP Council members and selected on the following criteria:

  • The quality of the science, the merit of hypothesis being tested, the suitability of the experimental approach adopted, the quality of the experimental results and the analysis and interpretation of the data presented.
  • The clarity with which the information is presented, based both on the published abstract and the final poster. Discussion with the poster presenter, where this is possible, is also taken into account.

The Honorary General Secretary will consider likely conflicts of interest and then delegate to a number of BAP Council Members who will review nominations for the various awards. Where a BAP Council Member is requested to review a prize in which a conflict of interest arises for them (e.g. a former PhD student has been nominated) they will excuse themselves from the process and another Council Member will be asked to replace them.

Whilst Council members are not prohibited from applying for prizes, the Honorary General Secretary additionally seeks the endorsement of one of the Presidents (current, immediate past or elect), according to their expertise, and who does not have a direct conflict of interest, before any such prize is awarded to a Council Member.

2015 winner(s)

2015 Winners: Mendel Kaelen, Martin Egeland, Caroline Phelps and Matthew Wall
2015 Winners: Mendel Kaelen, Martin Egeland, Caroline Phelps and Matthew Wall

Previous Winner(s)

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010